So excited…and potato soup

A friend of mine is running a marathon right now! She has about 20 mins left to make the qualifying time for the Boston Marathon. I’m so excited and anxious to hear how she does…

GOOO AMY!!!!

While she was out doing her easy peasy 26.2 miles I pushed out ‘about’ a mile. Not sure how far but I ran back and forth in front of my house a few times. Evening goes by too quickly so I did what I could. I don’t dare run too far in the dark. There are too many things that could “get me” out here. Like some crazy hick or an angry chicken.

Tonight I wanted some comfort food for dinner. It’s been a bit chilly for this time of year so potato soup sounded perfect. Typical of me, it’s 5 and I need to make dinner. I search the internet for at least 45 minutes to find something to make. I’m learning that healthy is often found under vegan when searching recipes. With Chris and I both being lactose intolerant vegan recipes offer great alternatives for things like potato soup. And this one was DELICIOUS!!

I changed it a bit as I didn’t have all the ingredients. It was so yum. I will be making it this way again. The original recipe from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen is here:

Potatoes can be microwaved, boiled, steamed, or even baked beforehand, but microwaving is quickest.

3 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, cooked and peeled, if desired
1/2 small onion
1 cup vegetable broth
1/4 teaspoon rosemary
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon white pepper (using more will make it spicy)
1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste
1 tablespoon raw cashews or 1/2 tbsp. cashew butter (optional)
1 tablespoon nutritional yeast
1 1/2 cups low-fat soymilk or other non-dairy milk

Vita-Mix InstructionsHigh-Powered Blender Users: Place two of the potatoes along with the remaining ingredients into the blender in the order given. Start machine on low speed and increase to highest setting. Blend for about 4 minutes, until steaming hot. Dice remaining potato and divide it among 4 bowls. Pour the soup over the potatoes and serve hot.

Regular Blender InstructionsRegular Blender/Stovetop Users: Chop the onion and sauté it until soft in a medium-sized saucepan. Cut the potatoes into cubes and add 2/3 of them to the pan, along with the broth, rosemary, white pepper, and salt. Simmer, covered, for about 15 minutes. Pour into blender along with cashew butter, soymilk, and nutritional yeast. Blend until smooth. Return to pan, add remaining potatoes, and cook, stirring often, over low heat until hot.

What I changed:

I used chicken stock and a rosemary garlic herbal blend. I omitted the salt since there was plenty in the chicken stock. I also omitted the cashews and yeast…not a staple in this house. I added 2 diced crimini mushrooms that I sauteed with the diced potatoes…perfect!

I left some of the skin on the potatoes so it made the soup a greyish color. Made Chris a bit nervous but let me tell you…it was soooo good! A great winter soup.

Here’s a picture of one of the girls tiny bowl. The light is bad so it looks more green but it was an ugly gray.

Amy should be done her race by now…can’t wait to hear!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

